Did You Know?

Some interesting facts and figures about our Georgia Golf Hall of Fame members:

FIVE members have been inducted into the Atlanta Sports Hall of Fame:  

Bob Jones
Furman Bisher
Tommy Barnes
Larry Nelson
Louise Suggs
TWENTY-NINE members also belong to the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame:

Tommy Aaron
Tommy Barnes
Furman Bisher
Arnold Blum
Laura Coble
Pete Cox
Jim Dent
Allen Doyle
Ed Everett
Alexa Stirling Fraser
Jim Gabrielsen
Dynamite Goodloe
Watts Gunn
Charles Harrison
Bob Jones
O.B. Keeler
Dorothy Kirby
Nancy Lopez
Lyn Lott
Larry Mize
Larry Nelson
Bill Ploeger
Hugh Royer, Jr.
Doug Sanders
Harold Sargent
Tim Simpson
Louise Suggs
DeWitt Weaver, Jr.
Charles Yates
Danny Yates
SIX members have achieved membership in the World Golf Hall of Fame:                
  Bob Jones
Nancy Lopez
Larry Nelson
Clifford Roberts
Hollis Stacy
Louise Suggs
The USGA's Bob Jones Award, presented annually since 1955, is the organization's highest honor. It is given in recognition of distinguished sportsmanship in golf and seeks to recognize a person who emulates Bob Jones' spirit, his personal qualities and his attitude toward the game and its players.  The Georgia Golf Hall of Fame is proud to claim not only the award's namesake as one of its own, but also four other winners of the prestigious honor:

1980: Charlie Yates
1998: Nancy Lopez
2001: Tom Cousins
2007: Louise Suggs (pictured)

All four major international golf competitions-- the Ryder Cup, Solheim Cup, Walker Cup and Curtis Cup -- have captains past, present and future who are also members of the Georgia Golf Hall of Fame.

Jim Gabrielsen - 1981 & 1991 Walker Cup
Bob Jones - 1928 & 1930 Walker Cup
Rosie Jones - 2011 Solheim Cup
Martha Kirouac - 2004 Curtis Cup (pictured)
Nancy Lopez - 2005 Solheim Cup
Davis Love III - 2012 Ryder Cup
Charlie Yates - 1953 Walker Cup
Danny Yates - 1999 & 2001 Walker Cup

Major Accomplishments: Georgia Golf Hall of Fame members have combined for 27 major titles on the men's, women's and senior professional circuits, including two Masters titles.

Tommy Aaron - 1973 Masters
Allen Doyle - 1999 Senior PGA Championship, 2001 Senior Players Championship, 2005 & 2006 U.S. Senior Open (pictured)
Bob Jones - 1923, 1926, 1929, 1930 US Opens, 1926, 1927, 1930 British Opens
Nancy Lopez - 1978, 1985, 1989 LPGA Championships
Davis Love III - 1997 PGA Championship
Larry Mize - 1987 Masters
Larry Nelson - 1981 & 1987 PGA Championship; 1983 U.S. Open
George Sargent - 1909 U.S. Open
Hollis Stacy - 1977, 1978, 1984 U.S. Women's Opens
Louise Suggs - 1949, 1952 U.S. Women's Opens, 1957 LPGA Championship